Nov 4, 2010

Work

So, I started my first working experience at a cafe somewhere. It has been tiring but it IS, good experience.

Even though I'm only going to work for 2 weeks, yet I feel like it's going to feel like FOREVER.

Today was my fourth day, and you DO NOT know how happy I am to be able to have a break for the weekends. PHEW

I have to wake up at 6 every morning and leave at 6:15 a.m. SIX FIFTEEN OKAY
Even your parents don't start work that early!?

So, it has been quite fun walking around and taking orders from people. I'm working as a waitress.

And I TELL YOU, I'll ADMIT IT, waiters and waitresses are NOT very hygienic.
I mean, why would we care to be hygienic to your drinks? We're not the ones drinking them right? This is my conclusion from experiencing the mind of a waitress.

You can see people from all walks of life at the cafe.

There are..
A group of custom officers (even though I keep thinking they're police)
Security guards
A jolly blind man called John
Supermarket workers
Salesmen
Retired people who sit at the cafe for hours
Men with long hair

This is one good experience:
I walk to the visually impaired man, asking him what he wants to drink. He faces me (even though he can't see). He says in a loud voice: Teh O! I take his order, and tells the bartender that it is John's order. Why do I have to inform the bartender? Because the bartender would put more sugar in his Teh O, since he can't add more sugar by himself. YOU WOULD'NT THINK OF THAT RIGHT? Wow. As I collect money from John, he would take out his wallet and hand out coins from the wallet's pocket he knows well. The aunty I'm working for would hand him the change INTO his palm, if you get what I mean.

I made quite a few mistakes, dropping chopsticks on customers, giving two customers Kopi O Peng when they want Teh O Peng, speaking Malay to a man who speaks Mandarin, and saying the wrong price to a REGULAR customer. Fortunately Aunty and the customers weren't mad. Phew. Wow, come to think of it, I haven't even met ONE haughty customer! God is good.

There are peak hours at the cafe too. 7 a.m and 12:30 p.m. Around those two times are the times office-people come for their breakfast or lunch breaks.

Other times, I guess the customers are lazy people who are supposed to be at work and retired people who sit and chat for HOURS.

Oh yeah, I even sold cigarettes >) There's LA, Winston, and Park Way (which I kept hearing as Pak Weh) There's one annoying customer in an orange shirt so I call him the Annoying Orange.

It's a really good experience working illegally (I'm not supposed to work, I think) even though I'm tired and I want to quit work any moment. I'll just spend my time away at the cafe rather than Facebooking then. I have 5 more days to go! :D

And. My face, my clothes, and my hair are coated with cigarette smoke. That's one part of working that I hate a lot. GAH when I breathe I even feel like a smoker now. There's smoke in my breath. My throat is dry. My tongue is dry. My lungs are black. DON'T YOU EVER SMOKE

OK BAI

Smile at your own risk.

No comments: